College Football Awards Watch List 2018 Time, TV schedule, finalists, and winners | College Football Schedule

College Football Schedule

College Football Awards Watch List 2018 Time, TV schedule, finalists, and winners | College Football Schedule

College Football Awards Watch List 2018 Time, TV schedule, finalists, and winners | College Football Schedule. The College Football Awards show aired Thursday at 7 p.m. ET. The show, which took place in the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, saw 13 awards presented, with three winners announced before the event. 

Here’s everything you need to know about it:


Alabama led the way with six finalists for awards, including Tua Tagovailoa and Quinnen Williams, who both won awards.

The two awards Tagovailoa was up for held extra significance due to another award being presented this Saturday — the Heisman.

Tagovailoa and Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray were both in the running for the Maxwell Award for the college player of the year. Tagovailoa won the Maxwell Award, while Murray claimed the Davey O’Brien award for the nation’s best quarterback. He and Tagovailoa are also two of the three finalists for the Heisman.

The Maxwell Award was established in 1937, two years after the Heisman. Since then, 39 of the 81 winners of the Maxwell Award went on to win the Heisman (48.1 percent). The Davey O’Brien Award was first presented in 1981, and 18 of its 37 winners have gone on to win the Heisman (48.6 percent). Only 10 players have ever won all three:

YearWinner of Heisman, Maxwell, & Davey O’BrienSchool
1984Doug FlutieBoston College
1986Vinny TestaverdeMiami
1990Ty DetmerBYU
1992Gino TorrettaMiami
1993Charlie WardFlorida State
1996Danny WuerffelFlorida
2007Tim TebowFlorida
2010Cam NewtonAuburn
2014Marcus MariotaOregon
2017Baker MayfieldOklahoma


Here is a list of all college football awards, finalists and winners for each:

Chuck Bednarik Award

Description: College Defensive Player of the Year
Finalists: Josh Allen, Kentucky (Sr.); Christian Wilkins, Clemson (Gr.); Quinnen Williams, Alabama (So.)
Winner: Josh Allen, Kentucky (Sr.)

Biletnikoff Award

Description: Outstanding receiver
Finalists: Andy Isabella, UMass (Sr.); Jerry Jeudy, Alabama (So.); Tylan Wallace, Oklahoma State (So.)
Winner: Jerry Jeudy, Alabama (So.)

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award

Description: Nation’s Outstanding Placekicker
Finalists: Cooper Rothe, Wyoming (So.); Andre Szmut, Syracuse (Fr.); Cole Tracy, LSU (Sr.)
Winner: Andre Szmut, Syracuse (Fr.)

Ray Guy Award

Description: College Punter of the Year
Finalists: Braden Mann, Texas A&M (Jr.); James Smith, Cincinnati (So.); Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah (So.)
Winner: Braden Mann, Texas A&M (Jr.)

Maxwell Award

Description: College Player of the Year
Finalists: Will Grier, West Virginia (Sr.); Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (Jr.); Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (So.)
Winner: Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (So.)

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Description: Nation’s Best Quarterback
Finalists: Gardner Minshew II, Washington State (Gr.); Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (Jr.); Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (So.)
Winner: Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (Jr.)

Outland Trophy

Description: Nation’s Most Outstanding Interior Lineman
Finalists: Christian Wilkins, Clemson (Gr.); Jonah Williams, Alabama (So.); Quinnen Williams, Alabama (So.)
Winner: Quinnen Williams, Alabama (So.)

Paycom Jim Thorpe Award

Description: Nation’s Best Defensive Back
Finalists: DeAndre Baker, Georgia (Sr.); Julian Love, Notre Dame (Jr.); Greedy Williams, LSU (So.)
Winner: DeAndre Baker, Georgia (Sr.)

Doak Walker Award

Description: Nation’s Premier Running Back
Finalists: Travis Etienne, Clemson (So.); Darrell Henderson, Memphis (So.); Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin (So.)
Winner:  Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin (So.)

The Home Depot Coach of the Year

Winner: Brian Kelly, Notre Dame

NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award

Winner: Historically Black Colleges and Universities

Disney Spirit Award

Winner: Tyler Trent, Inspirational Purdue football super fan

Walter Camp Award

Winner: Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (So.)

Walter Camp All-America Team

Winners:  Tua Tagovailoa, Jonathan Taylor, Darrell Henderson, Jerry Jeudy, Andy Isabella, Jace Sternberger, Jonah Williams, Mitch Hyatt, Ben Powers, Beau Benzschawel, Garrett Bradbury, Christian Wilkins, Quinnen Williams, Ed Oliver, Clelin Ferrell, Josh Allen, Devin White, Devin Bush, DeAndre Baker, Greedy Williams, Julian Love, Grant Delpit, Andre Szymt, Braden Mann, Savon Scarver

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.